New Website Launched

Welcome to our newly rebuilt BJ(A)L virtual studio, a news-based, interactive environment, bringing together visitors, clients, students, our partners and collaborators. Selected favorite projects are shown either in progress or completed, alongside a random collection of sketches and models,  renderings, news articles, publications and conversations that at one time or another shaped or continue to influence the practice. Visitors are encouraged to explore our small, private architectural practice and Connect.


ECCA Lands Consultation Complete

A public engagement process conducted by the City of Edmonton to assist in the selection of the preferred consultant team for the redevelopment of the Edmonton Centre City Airport Lands is now complete.

The five design firms among the shortlist are truly world-class, with Perkins and Will and Group2 Architecture Engineering forming the only Canadian based proposal.

From the City of Edmonton website:

“The City has now completed its latest phase of public consultation.  Citizens provided observations on five conceptual designs and videos from teams from North America and Europe as part of their submission to redevelop the City Centre Airport lands. Those observations will be considered by a Selection Committee in the decision to choose a winning team and they will also be considered during the upcoming 15-month planning process which will further define the winning conceptual plan and, among other items, roads, subdivisions, land uses, green space amenities, etc.

It is important to remember the City is choosing the best team instead of choosing the best conceptual design. The best elements of all these designs will be considered for incorporation into the final master plan.”


Triffo Hall featured in ArchDaily

ArchDaily, ‘the world’s most visited architecture website,’ recently featured the University of Alberta’s Triffo Hall. Originally known as the ‘South Lab,’ the 1915 structure is one of the oldest buildings on the University of Alberta Main Campus. Barry Johns (Architecture) Limited and its successor firm Group2 Architecture Engineering Limited successfully renovated the facility to achieve LEED® Gold.


AAA News

At the request of Council, Barry Johns completed a 6 month term as the (Interim) Director of Practice with the Alberta Association of Architects in the Fall of 2010. During this tenure, several Practice Bulletins were completed for review and publication by the Practice Review Board. A permanent Director is targeted to be hired in 2011.

Page 2 of 7